The ceremony took place at the illustrious HAC in London. Photo: HR in Law Awards

Friday 6th May 2016

A firm grip on success

Which law firms triumphed in last night's HR in Law Awards?

The HR in Law Awards, in association with Professionals in Law, may only be in their second year but they’re already an unmissable night in the legal HR calendar.

Last night 300 HR/law types rocked up at the Honourable Artillery Company in London for a ceremony that clocked up even more entries, more winners and more beetroot emulsion than it did in 2015.

Stephen Mangan

The evening was presented by Stephen Mangan (right) – of Green Wing, Episodes and Postman Pat: The Movie fame – and saw a total of fourteen firms go home with a decent bit of silverware in their handbag. The evening was introduced by the Chair of HR in Law, Rob Hind. (‘A Highly Commended means you missed out on the top spot by a margin even thinner than a Panamanian lawyer’s conscience,’ etc.)

The winners were:

Excellence in Direct Recruitment: Osborne Clarke

Best School-Leaver or Apprenticeship Initiative: Mayer Brown

Best HR Innovation Through Technology: Linklaters

Excellence in Equality & Inclusion: Clifford Chance

Excellence in Learning & Development: Ashurst

HR Business Impact Award: Trowers & Hamlins

Best CSR Initiative: Simpson Millar

Best Health & Wellbeing Initiative (for firms of up to 750 employees): Reed Smith

Best Health & Wellbeing Initiative (for firms of over 750 employees): Nabarro

Excellence in Talent Management: Pinsent Masons

Best Trainee Recruitment Campaign: Taylor Wessing

Best Legal Workplace: Burges Salmon

Best Individual Contribution: Gun Judge (Addleshaw Goddard)

Rising Star: Catherine Morgan-Guest (Macfarlanes)

The winner of the evening’s Grand Prix award was Clifford Chance, which was recognised for the excellence of its LGBT diversity work.

About the author

Andrew Baird

Andrew is the CEO of HRville. He is also Employer Brand Director of Blackbridge Communications, Editorial Director of Professionals in Law and an associate of The Smarty Train. Previously, he was the MD of TCS Advertising.